Track 1:Ch. 2 — A Changed World

I’m trying to get prequel novel licensed since the author already said on twitter if given the offer, he will sign it. So if you can spare a bit of time, please vote with the following link to help our chances. In one of the ‘light novel’ sections put either “She Likes Homos, Not Me” or “Kanojo ga Suki na Mono wa Homo deatte Boku de wa nai”. You can put down a vote for the manga too if you want.

With that being said, please enjoy the chapter.


“Soo Andou, you really have zero experience in Osaka, huh?”

My friend, Hidenori Inaba, asked as I shoved an egg roll from my bento into my mouth. Another friend of mine, Fumihito Hara, continued, “He’s a transfer student after all.” To which Jun Andou, who had somehow ALSO become a friend of mine, replied after taking a bite of bread, “Well, I figured I’d just take the chance here.”

“Hah, yer quite the brave one, aren’tcha1. Akira, ya should learn by example.”

I almost choked on my meatball when Fumihito made that comment. Me, learn from his example? —You have got to be kidding me.

“Learn what?”

“Akira, yer always getting all spooked.”

“Igarashi-kun, don’t worry. I don’t notice it.”

Igarashi-kun. Don’t call me that. You cunt, don’t call me that name.

“Ah look, he’s spooked.”

I went back to scraping the rice from my bento and, just like I’d wanted, the conversation stagnated. Jun Andou quickly shifted his attention to talking with Fumihito and Hidenori. As wholesome and harmonious this all is, it’s also damn well pissing me off.

Hidenori was the one who had approached Jun Andou first.

He’s always acting so motherly; perhaps it’s because he’s the eldest son of seven. Thus it was no surprise when he suggested, “Let’s have lunch with the new kid.” And of course, Fumihito, who agrees with just about anything, said, “Sure.”

I can’t say I didn’t see this comin’, but don’t think for a minute my jimmies are all rustled up about it. I’m not about to go out of my way to bully you, but don’t go thinking you’re part of our clique. Those were the words I wanted to say, but didn’t.

It’s already been a week since he transferred. Despite what I initially thought, Jun Andou has succeeded in becoming friends with the whole class, especially the girls. Fumihito would even tease him by saying, “My, quite the lady-killer ya are.” Jun just replied, “You’re one yourself.” which only served to piss me off more. Damn cheesy bastard, I thought. Fumihito just laughed and replied with, “Damn right.”

“Oh yeah, I’ve heard everyone here in Kansai has a takoyaki maker 2 at home. Is that true?”

“Andou, ya can’t be so quick to assume. There’s all kinds of people out ‘ere. But, well, in my family’s case, we do have one.”

“He’s right. Andou, it’s like how ya don’t like it when people make comments about ‘all gays’. Well, not that it matters since I have one as well.”

Hah, they’re getting really fucking obnoxious. You know, at this point, I should just walk away. If they’re going to be all buddy-buddy with this asshat, I’m just gonna leave. No wait, I’ll just end up looking super lame—

<SLAM>

“Yo, pay attention!”

Hidenori surprised me with a smack to the back of the head. Stop that. Why should I care about this fool? You, I’d fuck without a second thought, but him? He’s too much of a bastard for my tastes.

“Say Andou, how would ya like to join us for a Takipa today.” Hidenori suddenly whispered. To which, Jun Andou responded, “What?” I could only roll my eyes.

“Takipa. A Takoyaki party, don’tcha know?”

“I know of it, but… today?”

“Who knows? If we don’t do it now, we might never have the chance to again. After school, we’ll be going to Akira’s house.”

Akira’s house. At the sudden decision in location, I raised my voice, “Why my house?”

“We always have the Takipas at your house. Do ya have other plans?”

Right. I don’t know how I’m gonna wiggle my way out of this now. It’s a lost cause.

“No, not really, but…”

“Then we’re good there. Hidenori?”

“Estoy bueno.”

“Andou?”

“Well, if that’s the case, then I’ll go as well. Thanks.” He said while smiling happily.

—Stop that. Yer makin’ me out to be the villain here.

“Excuse me, I gotta use the bathroom.” I said as I got out of my seat and left the class. I made my way over to a private stall, sat on the toilet, and sighed. Will this feeling last until I graduate? Give me a break. While thinking this, I pulled out my phone and noticed I had a new message on LINE.

  • Let’s do it today.

It’s Naoya. He sent it five minutes ago. If I had just read it a little earlier, then I could’ve told the group, “Sorry, but I have plans with another friend.” How sad.

  • Not today.
  • Why?
  • Plans.
  • What plans?
  • Transfer student. Takipa.
  • My, how close you are.
  • My friends made the decision, not me.

As the conversation had ended there, I got up and flushed the toilet, then started making my way out of the bathroom. However, just as I was about to put my phone back into my pocket, I received a message that made me freeze.

  • Hey.

It was a short message, but the real problem was the follow-up.

  • This time, I’m coming too.

Why is this happening? Those thoughts kept repeating in my head as I led Naoya, Hidenori, Fumihito, and Jun Andou to my home. Naoya knows Hidenori and Fumihito, and they know him as well. Even so, I’ve never let him and my friends get close. I wanted to keep my two lives separate from each other. Which is why I’m not sure how this came up, much less why. I bet it’s because of the transfer student—he’s the reason my life is turnin’ upside down

“So I hear Kokonoe-kun and Igarashi-kun are fellow gamers.”

“Yeah ya know it. How’s about you, Andoukun? Do you play video games?”

“Oh yeah. My best friend back in Tokyo loved to play, so he dragged me into it.”

“Let’s go to the arcade together sometime then. Hey, Akira?”

“…Yeah sure.”

It was a crude reply, but Naoya paid it no heed and instead redirected the conversation. Hidenori and Fumihito joined in, making it seem like they, including Jun Andou, were old pals. Hey now, aren’t you my friends? Why am I the one left out? I’ll fuck you up mate.

I saw my sister’s loafers at the entrance when we arrived at my house, sending my mood into a nosedive straight off a cliff. The last person I wanted Jun Andou to meet was her; she lacks proper mannerisms. I dread the snide remarks she’ll make.

Please stay in your room. I prayed as I opened the living room door, but God didn’t care to answer. She was there, lying on the couch as she said, “Welcome home.”

“Quite the group ya got there. Whatcha guys up to?”

“Takipa. Now haul yer ass outta here.”

“Sure sure. I’ll haul my ass out like ya said. Damn fool.”

My sister got up to leave, but, as she passed by me, she saw Jun Andou and stopped. Oh no.

“I don’t believe I’ve met ya.”

“He’s nobody special. It’d be weird if ya knew all your brother’s friends.”

“Ah, I’m the new transfer student. It’s nice to meet you.” He bowed his head, to which my sister’s eyes widened. Shit. She realized.

“Oh so yer the rumoured Jun Andou?”

“Rumoured?”

“Ya heard me~. I hear yer a student with some guts.” She gave him a slap on the back, which caused Jun to recoil in surprise. Ah, so coming out is easy, but ya can’t even handle my sister? Well, sounds about right, you lil’ shit.

“Keep on truckin’ boy. I, as well as Akira, will support ya.”

Hey, I don’t support ya. Before I could say that, my sister got up and left the room. Jun, bewildered, looked at me and asked, “How do I say this…You have a rather energetic sister, huh?”

“Ya can just come out and say she’s got a crude pair of lips on her. Now, let’s get this over with.”

“Oh, that reminds me, do we need to buy any ingredients?”

“We got ‘em.” I answered curtly before heading to the kitchen. There, I retrieved the hotplate from the shelf under the stove and placed it on the table while Naoya and others got out the bowls and ingredients. Since they’ve been in my house many times before, they naturally knew the process. Jun Andou was the only one looking puzzled.

“Kokonoe-kun, can you let me know what I can do?”

“Just sit ya’self down, yer a guest. Also, don’t go calling me Kokonoe-kun. It’s a bit awks. Just call me Naoya.”

“Awks?”

“It means awkward.”

“Ah, s’all good to call me Hidenori too.”

“It’s muy bien if ya call me Fumihito. Feel free ya’know.”

“Umm…Then, it’s Naoya, Hidenori, and Fumihito…” Jun said as he turned to me. He opened his mouth and said the one thing I was dreading, “Akira.”

I felt like my veins were bursting right outta my forehead when he said that.

A tremendous, unknown feeling began building up in me until it popped away like a bubble. Anger, frustration, confusion—No, I need to stop this. If I don’t think about it, it’ll go away.

“I never goddamn told ya to go callin’ me that.”

I pouted and turned away. Then, loud enough for me to hear, he said, “Are you fo’ real?” I wanted to make a snide remark back, but I knew doing that would only spark trouble, so I remained silent and plugged in the hotplate.

“Why, aren’tcha just damn terrible at this. Give it here.”

Hidenori took the picks from Jun and began flipping the takoyaki with just a flip of his wrist. Just a little bit ago, he’d been asking to give it a try too, saying, “Let me give it a go,” only to fail miserably with just an “Oh”. What does ‘Oh.’ even mean? It ain’t a big deal, Tokyo people aren’t expected to be good at this.

“Yer failin’ cause you’re rushing the process. While doin’ small, circular movements, you poke da filling that’s sticking out and stuff it in.”

“How’d you learn all this?”

“Back homem I’m the oldest of seven, so it’s kinda my job.”

“Six is incredible. What about you, Funito?”

“Gots me two brothers. You ain’t got one?”

“Nuh uh. Only child. Naoya?”

“Gots a lil’ sis. That’s all.”

It seems the names are sticking. Does that mean I have to call him “Jun” too? No, I don’t wanna. I don’t know why, but my whole being is just screaming no at da thought. It gives me goosebumps.

“But fo’ real, learn from Hidenori, Jun. Didn’tcha hear what our class is doing for da school festival?”

“A takoyaki stall. The other classes didn’t contest for that right, did they?”

“They did, but Kobarin won with rock-paper-scissors.”

Now they’re talking about the cultural festival which is just a month out. Before all this, I was actually really excited for it. But now, it just feels like it’ll be too much of a hassle. This, that, and everything in between… it’s all that damn Jun Andou’s fault. Shit.

“…I’m going to da bathroom.”

I got up from the table and left the living room. If something is bothering me, I just head to the bathroom. Though I’ve been doing it a lot more recently, even when I’m hanging out with Hidenori and the others. I bet Jun Andou is thinking “He sure has to pee a lot” and—

—Fuck.

I shook my head vigorously. Stop, stop it. He’s taking over my mind. Forgedda ‘bout him.

When I got to the bathroom, I didn’t feel the need, but I still forced myself to piss. I flushed the toilet and left, however, on my way out, I managed to bump into my sister who was just coming downstairs. I tried to ignore her and make my way back, but she stopped me.

“Akira.”

“Hm?”

“Andou-kun is a nice guy.”

—I was JUST trying to forget about him. Didja really have to say that now of all times? Like, really?

“In what way?”

“He’s kind and patient, but he’s got that sense of mystery about him. The kinda guy that has a skeleton or two in their closet, y’know?”

“If that’s the case, then why don’tcha just confess? Sis, yer pretty manly yerself. He might just go out with ya.”

“What about me screams manly, huhh?’

“Your crassness, ‘course.”

Sis shook her head and forced a sigh, “Akira, you really oughta grow up a little.”

“Huh?”

“Andou-kun is just Andou-kun, just like how you are Akira. He’s just a separate part of that group, ‘kay?’

That bloody bastard ain’t one of us!”

The living room door had been opened.

And the person who stepped into the middle of this vortex was Jun Andou himself. I stood there frozen as he looked back blankly. My sister could only ask, “Andou-kun, didja hear any of that just now?”

“Just now?”

“Nevermind, it ain’t a big deal. See ya.” She said as she fled back up the stairs. She lit the match and then just left it to burn. That bitch.

“What were you and your sister talking about?”

“Hell if I know. Whatcha here for anyway?’

“The bathroom.”

“Aight, o’er there.”

I pointed to the end of the hallway. He simply bowed his head and said “Thanks” before passing by me. As I watched him move farther and farther down the hall, I felt a strange urge rising up. Before I knew it, I was calling out to him.

“Andou.”

He turned back to me with curious eyes. Ah, this lil’ shit. I don’t know what he’s thinking, but damn are his eyes beautiful. Another thing that just pisses me off.

“Why are ya homosexual?”

Like a light being switched off, his mood had turned somber. It looked like I touched a sore spot. Then, while looking down at the floor, he mumbles in a solemn tone, “I wonder why myself.”

With those few words, he turned and disappeared into the bathroom. I returned to the living room where the savory smell of sauce and flour that greeted me, to Fuminto’s crude joke of, “Took a while. Got the shits?”, hit me so suddenly that I didn’t have time to process his response.

By evening, the party had ended and only I remained at the house.

Not even five minutes later, however, Naoya came back, saying he’d “forgot something”. When I asked what, he gave a tempeid smile and said, “Told ya. We’re doing it today.”

He had me in just 30 minutes.

I was naked on my bed with Naoya by my side. Normally, I don’t do it at home; it’s far too risky. But, when push comes to shove, I give in to my greedy side—something Naoya knows all too well. How many other men has this guy devoured? I was curious, but too afraid to ask.

“Hey.” Naoya rested his head on my chest like a child wanting to be spoiled. While stroking his soft hair, I answered sharply, “What?”

Next time, we oughta have a threesome with Jun.”

—I’m not spoilin’ this shithead. I slapped Noaya’s head, “Idiot.” Then, I jumped out of the bed to pick my boxers up off the floor. Naoya yelled out disgruntledly, “Whaa? Why not? You want it too.”

“No damn way. You horndog!”

“But Akira, ya like Jun.” I was just putting on my boxers when his comment stopped me dead in my tracks.

A moment later though and my boxers were on. I turned back to Naoya and, with as much weight I could put into my voice, said, “Huh?” It didn’t bother Naoya though, who simply smirked while still under the covers, “It’s mega obvious. You looked so cute when he called your name.”

“I don’t know whatcha talkin’ about. Don’t go makin’ wrong assumptions, ya bastard.”

“Then, can I go for him?” Those words caused me to choke. I could only get angrier when I couldn’t come up with anything to say in response. Meanwhile, Naoya got out of bed and started dressing himself as well.

“I’m just curious how it’d go. And since I thought you were also interested in him, a threesome would’ve been perfect. But if ya ain’t interested, then I’ll just dive right in m’self.”

“Are you fo’ real fo’ real?”

“Mega real.”

“If you do it with that fucker, then I’ll expose ya.”

“I gots no issues with that. My parents recently found out so I ain’t afraid of nuffin.”

Parents? —Don’t just throw out new information left and right. I can’t keep up.

“And things are okay?”

“Well, I’m the eldest with no male siblings, so they’re up in arms about who’s gonna run the family business, y’know.”

“Nah, not that, did they say anything?”

Naoya, now dressed in the same uniform he arrived in, turned to face me. His eyes, partially hidden behind his long, thin, and soft looking bangs, slowly came closer. Then he wrapped his hands around me in a hug and whispered in my ear, “Cheers man.”

Answer the damn question. Is what I wanted to say, but I couldn’t bring myself to. I felt like not answering was an answer in itself.

“Well, I’mma head on home.”

“Huh?”

“See ya tomorrow.” He said as he stepped out of the room. “Wait a sec!” I called out after him as I chased after, but I had to stop after I remembered I had nothing on but my boxers. I sat on the edge of my bed with slumped shoulders, sighed, and stared out where he left with a hollow gaze.

—But Akira, ya like Jun.

“…No way that’s true.”

I’m alone now. I ran my hand down to my crotch, idly stroking it against the thin fabric until it got hard again. I wonder why I’m doing this when I just did it a few minutes ago? In a moment of self-loathing, I grabbed my boxers and slid them back down in one fell swoop.

The next morning, I entered the classroom to find Hidenori, Fumihito, and Jun Andou chatting at my seat.

This is what happens every morning. I can’t just ignore them since they’re at my seat. I’m hoping eventually, Fumihito will step on a landmine and have a falling out with him.

“Mornin’,” Jun Andou greeted me. I responded back with a “Hi” and took my seat. I rested my chin on my hand and watched them while thinking, ”Do I like this guy?”

“It feels like it was just yesterday I came to Osaka.”

“Good. You gotta go sightseeing now.”

“Hidenori, let’s go to USJ3. There’s an event I wanna see there.”

I just don’t know anymore. Not in regards to my feelings, but how Naoya can make that kinda mistake. Even now, all I feel is frustration every time I look at him. Even when he’s smiling, having fun, or angry, I feel no sense of comfort with him. To me you’re—

On THIS side of the fence, and I’m on MINE.

“Akira.” I turned as my name was called from a distance. It was Naoya standing at the classroom door… He stared straight at me as he made his way over to me and the others.

“Mornin’.”

At Jun Andou’s greeting, Naoya responded in kind with a “G’morning”. Then, after taking a gander at us all, he looked straight at Jun Andou and said, “I gots something to say to ya, Jun.”

“About what?”

“I’m gay too.”

The classroom, which had just been busy with chatter a moment earlier, had gone eerily silent.

It was just like the day when Jun Andou introduced himself to the class. With a single word, all eyes were glued to him. Everyone in the classroom was at a loss for words, including the master of it himself.

“Which is why I was curious about ya. That’s why I attended the Takipa. After meeting ya yesterday, I decided from here on out I’ll live life the way you do. I ain’t gonna hide it no more.”

Naoya, with an innocent smile unbecoming of him, held his right hand out to Jun and awkwardly said, “Glad to be partners in crime with ya.”

As they look at each other, I can see there’s an unusual level of sincerity in their eyes. A special look to convey a special meaning. Jun reached out and clasped his right hand with Naoya’s and simply said. “Mhm. It’s nice to know you.”

They smiled at each other for a bit until Naoya turned his back and left while saying, “Well, see ya around.” Fuminoto scratched the back of his head and managed to mumble, “Slap my ass and call me Sally. That was reckless.”

Reckless. —Yeah, hella reckless. From my life to my mind, Jun Andou has ruined everything. Hidenori, Fumihito, my sis, and now finally Naoya. This is one sick ass joke.

I jumped up from my seat and ran out into the hallway.

I heard Hidenori shout, “Akira?!” from behind, but I ignored him. I rushed to where Naoya was and, before he entered his class, I grabbed his shoulder and spun him around, “Oi!”

“Whatcha want?”

“Lend me a bit of ya time.”

“I gotta do something with my classmates, a lot of work.”

“That ain’t nuffin’!” I grabbed his arm and pulled him away. Somewhere empty…

I thought about where to go and came up with the gym closet where he and I first met. I stepped inside, leading Naoya along.

Like I’d hoped, it’s empty.

I shoved Naoya against the wall. Naoya snorted and teasingly said, “Kabedon4?”

“Spit it out. What the hell do ya think you’re doin’?”

“Whatcha mean?’

“Obviously what happened earlier! You must be outta your damn mind.”

“I said I wanted to be myself.”

“This ain’t like ya!”

“You don’t get to decide that. Yer the one bein’ crazy now.” Unable to argue with that, I stood in silence while Naoya put his hands in his pockets and slumped against the gym closet’s cabinets.

“Well, you’re kinda right too. I’m doing this ’cause I wanna get closer to Jun. If I don’t come out, then I’ve no right to be with him.”

“Any right?”

“Jun ain’t one to beat around the bush, which is why I came out. If ya go out with somebody who’s still hiding, then the other guy is back to square one.” His words dug deep into me for I am the one who continues to hide myself. Naoya caught on and followed up, “Not that there’s anything wrong with stayin’ in the closet. If my parents hadn’t found out, I probably wouldn’t have come out either. It’s just—”

Naoya straightened himself up from the wall and faced me with a serious look on his face, “It’s no lie if that’s how ya wanna live your life. I know you’ve also thought about doing it.”

As if waiting for a reply, Naoya continued to watch me, but I was unable to give him one and so we just stood there in silence. Eventually he shook his head, as if he had given up, and backed away.

Before he left, he said the following parting words, “If ya wanna change routes for a threesome, then hit me up. I’ll consider it.”Who’s going to change routes for a bastard like you? That easy retort managed to lodge itself in my throat.

Eventually I couldn’t hear Naoya’s footsteps anymore, but I still didn’t move an inch. Finally, the bell rang, signaling homeroom was over, and I headed back.


Footnotes

  1. Kansai Dialect: [It wasn’t that apparent in Ch. 1, but the characters use a ‘Kansai’ dialect. The best way I can describe it is something between a hick and Boston accent with a sprinkle of Aussie. In other words, they’re more rough and blunt than Tokyo people, and love their slang.]
  2. Taoyaki: [Osaka people are known for their love of Takoyaki. So much so, it’s common to have a special hotplate in your house out there.]
  3. Universal Studio Japan: [USJ is located in Osaka and is one of the most popular tourist areas there.]
  4. Kabedon: [A move where you pin the person against the wall with both hands—typically shown in shoujo manga.]

  • Translator – Yabaibunni
  • Editor – Comrade
  • Quality Checker – Xinqi

6 thoughts on “Track 1:Ch. 2 — A Changed World

Leave a comment